Ode on a Showery Monday

I trudged the trail one morning dreary,

My limbs benumbed, feet so weary

Like jewels the drops adhere to tips,

Hummingbirds dive for dainty sips

A red tailed hawk alights on oak,

Angry clouds roll down like smoke

A fork in the trail what shall I do?

A dozen boot treads a crucial clue

I sneer at them cause I’m no sheep,

The untrod path I begin to creep

Alas it’s flooded impassable sludge

Luke’s no fool refuses to budge

I'm no dummy

I’m doomed I’m finished I’ve been forsaken

There’s usually a reason for the road less taken.

(Apologies to Mr. Frost and anyone who knows anything about proper poetry)

Story and photos from the Old Baldwin OVLC trail.

This entry was posted in rambling. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

