Eastern Sierra Hikes – Day 2 & 3

Day 2 we wanted to do a hike down in the town of Mammoth, chose the Duck Pass, elevation 9000 feet.  I had read about the ridiculous wind storm that roared through here in November that had left thousands of downed trees, it was still a mess.  I heard from someone that in certain spots there were average winds of 100 mph.. FOR 15 HOURS IN A ROW… Crazy… Well there were plenty of trees torn right out of the ground.. but not a ton of wildflowers.

Day 3 we headed towards Tioga Pass near Yosemite, had never been that far north.  The air was thin and the wind was whipping up Glacier Canyon. At this elevation we were a little early for most wildflowers, but the scenery was stunning.

Still got some nice pics, enjoy

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Native Plants, Sierras and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Eastern Sierra Hikes – Day 2 & 3

  1. Chuck aka: The Ivy-guy. says:

    Awesome guys. I think that i am drooling almost as much as you were,….. luke! Looks like the crossing will be a little easier this year as compared to last. Happy you had a nice getaway and happier you traveled safely. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

