The Twelve Months of Ramber

‘Tis the season to reflect on what has passed and to ponder the road ahead.  Successes and failures, triumphs and tribulations are all part of why we get up in the morning no? 

The reason I started this blog was to share knowledge and information, and get folks (myself included) more involved in local events and organizations. Not sure about you but my noggin overfloweth with founts of fresh flora and bounteous birds and bugs.

Amazing that after all these years (a whopping 5) I am still learning new plants every season.  Just started learning our avian friends in the last few months; I’ve included some of my favorites.  Feel free to sing along…

Twelve twining snapdragons:

Twining snapdragon-River preserve in April

Twining snapdragon-River preserve in April

Eleven burbling boykinias

Round leaf boykinia, in the streams of Sisar, spring and summer

Round leaf boykinia, in the streams of Sisar, spring and summer

Ten trees of heaven

Non native but glad I know it, seems everyone already did

Non native but glad I know it, seems everyone already did

Nine narrow bedstraws

Narrow leaf bedstraw- this one baffled me for years

Narrow leaf bedstraw- this one baffled me for years

Eight indigos (false)

False indigo, Cozy Dell, WIlls Canyon

False indigo, Cozy Dell, WIlls Canyon

Seven rock roses

Hot, dry rocky exposed areas, Kennedy Ridge

Hot, dry rocky exposed areas, Kennedy Ridge

Six death camas

Death camas, found up Murietta

Death camas, found up Murietta

Fiiiive flowering ash

Flowering ash - Shady canyons like Murietta and Gridley

Flowering ash – Shady canyons like Murietta and Gridley

Four Fish’s milkworts

Fish's milkwort, thanks to Magney for this ID

Fish’s milkwort, thanks to Magney for this ID

Three thrashers tweeting

My favorite songster

My favorite songster

Two flickers feeding

My favorite bird of the year, distinctive whiny call

My favorite bird of the year, distinctive whiny call

And a yellow-rumped warbler in an oak tree

The most common bird I see walking the river bottom

The most common bird I see walking the river bottom

Now it’s your turn… This is my final post of the year, and I want to hear from you the readers.  If you’ve learned a single plant, tried a new trail, joined OVLC, hiked with Lanny or Audubon, planted a native in your yard because of the Rambler we want to hear about it… I need validation!!!  I know you’re not the chattiest bunch  but this is my one appeal of the year, consider it a belated Hanukkah gift…
Have a great holiday season, see you in 2013.

 

 

This entry was posted in critters, Native Plants, rambling and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Twelve Months of Ramber

  1. Kit Willis says:

    Thanks to the Ojai Rambler I learned about Lanny Kaufer’s online store where I did some of my more enjoyable holiday shopping. I ordered white sage/peppermint tea, sage hand soap, and a bottle of “Big Sur” air freshener, paid through PayPal, and received everything in a couple of days. So easy, and such unique products!

  2. doctorkdog says:

    As a purported local expert, I hate to admit how many new plants I’ve learned this year from the Ojai Rambler as I continue to expand my knowledge outside the realm of known edible and useful plants. Luke’s — or maybe Ron’s, not sure whose — sense of humor as exemplified by the 12 plants and birds of Christmas, always makes for an entertaining read. The native plants I bought in 1-gallon cans at the last plant sale are thriving. What else can I say? I’m a big fan! Happy Hanukkah, Joyful Solstice, Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

  3. Sarah says:

    Luke and Ron are great teachers. They taught me nearly all the natives I know and renewed my interest in local flora. They (Mrs. Rambler included) shared tasty oranges, loquats, jams, literature, embarrassing YouTube footage, and also helped me get my job. They are basically the best and I wish them a very Happy Hanukkah.

  4. ocdreader says:

    I finally tried Kennedy ridge thanks to Mr rambler – I want to get back up there after it dries out a bit. 🙂

  5. Myrna says:

    Thank You Mr Rambler for the great blog. Hectic life here with family, but we did some hikes on that new Land Conservancy trail off Highway 150 (Old Baldwin Trailhead). Accessible with a walk from our home, so that is an added bonus. Also Meditation Mount gardens are beautiful right now … and they have a newish path that circles the perimeter of the grounds.

    All the best wishes for the new year!

Leave a Reply

