A Berry Easy Quiz

Let’s not get into semantics.  These are not all berries, they are all fruits however.  I couldn’t think of a clever title with the word “fruit”.  Come to think of it, I didn’t come up with a very clever rhyme for berry either.  I think I met my cleverness quota for the fiscal quarter last time.

To the matter at hand.  Here is a list of a dozen numbered fruits that I personally observed on the Ventura River preserve at some point in the last 4 months.  Then there are eleven lettered pictures.  Match the numbers with the letters and leave your solution in the comment section.  First to get them all right gets 2 free plants at the OVLC fall plant sale on October 11.  That’s right, it’s still August and I am already plugging the sale.  My motto, “shill early and often.”

Yes I know, 12 plants but only 11 pictures, ain’t I a stinker?

1.  Fuchsia-flower gooseberry

2.  Snowberry

3.  Chaparral honeysuckle (Lonicera subspicata)

4.  Chaparral currant (Ribes malvaceum)

5.  Coffeeberry

6.  Redberry (Rhamnus ilicifolia)

7.  Holly-leaf cherry

8.  Toyon

9.  Sugarbush

10.  Elderberry

11.  Prickly Pear

12.  Basketbrush, squaw bush (Rhus trilobata)

A.F0986aCXR

 

B.S27989aCXR

C.C11898MGU

D.A18888LDYFC

E.S16142aSOKA

F.S55602aLZUM

G.A17158KANBB

H.S15525aCXR

I.A8521aLZUM

J.Opuntia_littoralis_var_vaseyi_6

K.S10043CXR

 

This entry was posted in Native Plants, rambling, Reference and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Berry Easy Quiz

  1. talawar says:

    If only images showed up in your blogs on my Mac!

  2. JJ says:

    Spoiler alert below:
    I suspect the too easy snowberry and don’t doubt Rambler might have contemplated confounding us with photo-swapped leaves and fruits – but here’s my list to start the discussion:
    1F; 2C; 3D; 4K; 5I; 6H; 7A; 8B; 9 X; 10E; 11J; 12G, that is, I don’t think I see sugarbush, rhus ovata.

  3. stermondt says:

    I will venture to guess….

    1.F
    2.C
    3.D
    4.K
    5.I
    6.H
    7.A
    8.Not Pictured
    9.B
    10.E
    11.J
    12.G

  4. Kim says:

    Great quiz! I can’t wait for you to give answers NEXT to photos! Berry me this and berry me that!

Leave a Reply

